Warning – Hyponotremia

As a warning to everyone in the club I thought I should share my experiences of this week with you all.

Saturday

Spent the day laying a patio in hot summer sunshine making sure I was drinking plenty of water.

Sunday

Went for a 2 hour training run in the morning, again drinking plenty of water and took a sports gel to keep me going. Spent the rest of Sunday working on the patio, again making sure I was drinking plenty of water to cope with the hot weather.

Monday

Collapsed in work and needed CPR to get me round. I was then rushed into Macclesfield hospital where I spent the next 2 days recovering.

The diagnosis was Hyponotremia, which basically means my sodium levels had dropped down far too low. The combination of very hot weather and drinking lots of water meant that I had sweated and diluted too much salt out of my system. When this reaches extreme levels it can, as in my case, cause you too collapse.

Thankfully I’m still here but I do have a couple of cracked ribs from the CPR which are rather painful.

Thankfully this doesn’t seem to be a very common situation but given the potentially serious outcome I thought it would be worth sharing with you all.

The solution to the problem is to make sure you re-hydrate properly using sports drinks which provide electrolyte replacement and don’t just rely on water alone.

I will hopefully be back running in a few weeks time and will be making sure I have car boot well stocked with electrolyte drinks.

Cheers

Ian

5 thoughts on “Warning – Hyponotremia

  1. So glad it wasn’t any more serious but advice gratefully received!
    Take care Ian, recover well and it will be fantastic when we next see you out running.
    All the best
    Adair

  2. Bad luck Ian, hope you’re feeling better soon.

    I was at a Scout First Aid course last weekend. A Gulf War vet was also there, he recommended Dioralyte sachets which the army medics handed out for rehydrations including salts, said they really did the trick. Can get them from Tescos or pharmacies.

    Ed

  3. Pingback: Helsby weekly update 17th July – 22nd July 2013 | Helsby running club

Leave a Reply

