Helsby weekly round-up 30th September – 6th October 2014

Saturday saw a strong turn out for Helsby at Delamere Forest Parkrun in rather damp conditions with new Pbs for Shan McCarthy, Helen Gillard and Louise McEveley. Well done all!!

101 Shan MCCARTHY 27:23 VW40-44 57.46 % F 19 Helsby RC New PB! 9
192 Louise SPRUCE 38:59 SW30-34 38.01 % F 66 Helsby RC PB stays at 00:38:34 3
193 Jo FARWELL 39:06 VW40-44 40.24 % F 67 Helsby RC PB stays at 00:25:22 13
107 Jackie KEASLEY 27:51 VW55-59 64.99 % F 22 Helsby RC PB stays at 00:24:39 6
99 Claire MORTON 27:20 VW55-59 65.37 % F 18 Helsby RC PB stays at 00:27:05 14
156 Helen GILLARD 31:56 VW50-54 53.13 % F 43 Helsby RC New PB! 2
31 Alfie GRADY 21:24 JM15-17 63.08 % M 27 Helsby RC PB stays at 00:20:42 28  
139 Jane ASHBROOK 30:24 VW35-39 50.00 % F 36 Helsby RC PB stays at 00:21:49 29
5 Max WAINWRIGHT 18:21 SM25-29 70.30 % M 5 Helsby RC PB stays at 00:17:53 3
55 Louise MCEVELEY 23:35 VW45-49 69.40 % F 9 Helsby RC New PB! 44
39 Jenny ILLIDGE 22:14 SW20-24 66.57 % F 6 Helsby RC First Timer!

Also on Saturday, Chris Baynham-Hughes sent in the following race report from the Skyrunning UK Lakes 3×3000 Ultra. Well done Chris, it sounds like one hell of an experience!

Skyrunning* UK Lakes 3x3000s Race Report

Summary – Seriously challenging race in ridiculous weather = long, tough but rewarding day out. Really enjoyed it. Recommended.

Longer version:

With heavy legs I travelled up to the Lakes for what seemed a good idea when I booked it; I also thought it’d be good to run their first season which kicked off with the V3K. Unfortunately I couldn’t run the Peak District one due to holidays and the final one is in Ireland and I can’t make it. Oh well. I’d decided to go up and just enjoy the route – “turn off the racer and turn on the adventurer” was the mantra for the day given that it is in effect a mini Bob Graham. Waking up in a Keswick car park at 4am in torrential rain had me wondering what on earth I was doing there. Getting to the start in full waterproofs to find everybody huddled under any shelter they could find did nothing to eliminate these doubt; neither did finding out that they were cutting the course to miss out Scafell. I didn’t start happy.

Still, I love running in the dark, so head torch on in rain beyond biblical proportions we set off towards Seathwaite. The trails were totally flooded, we waded through water regularly up to our knees (and people still minced around puddles later on down the trail – trying not to get their feet wet). Once we finally started up to Styhead pass I got to look back and see a trail of head torches snaking around the hills which is always an epic sight; I was starting to enjoy myself. I had started off slowly so had no idea where I was in the pack. By this stage there was a clear distance between us and the people ahead so I figured I was around the 40-50 mark as we approached the route change. Rather than taking the corridor route we were to head South East along past Allen Crags and eventually onto open fell land up to High Raise.

I could feel the grin growing as soon as I hit the soft variable terrain. I relished the thigh deep river crossings, the sounds of the waterfalls that had suddenly had life breathed into them over night. Everything was in spate and the rain had finally stopped. I’d stopped to take off my waterproofs and was running in a pertex and shorts but I was enjoying myself so much it took a while to realise that my hands were becoming significantly less dexterous from the cold. I grabbed my over gloves which I’d tied to my pack to I couldn’t lose them… I couldn’t untie them! I tried everything from teeth to fingernails and ended up being thankful that the bungee cord was just long enough for me to wear them with one attached to the bag, it did make me chuckle for the rest of the day though.

The route up Helvellyn put us firmly back on paths as the clag drifted in and out. The views had been spectacular but it appeared I was the only one looking as we crossed one of my favourite ridge lines. Taking in an extra Dodd unnecessarily allowed a bunch of runners to catch up and we cracked on across to Clough head and the ridiculously steep descent down towards Threlkeld. This whole section had been the reverse of the Bob Graham and the Lakeland 100 combined as we made our way to the base of Skiddaw. We came into Skiddaw and I was astonished to be in 16th position; I was sure everybody else must have gone the wrong way, however I left the Latrigg carpark under the misunderstanding that I was a mere up and down of Skiddaw from the finish…. instead we trailed all the way around past Skiddaw house and right out to approach Skiddaw from the North ~20km round trip!

Despite the distance and terrain I found myself racing at the end to hold off two guys behind me – having overtaken one and been overtaken by another on the skiddaw leg. Following my principle of not looking back meant I was running scared all the way into and through Keswick. I crossed the line 16th in 10:21:14 Exactly 5 minutes ahead of the next guy… if only I’d looked behind!

* For those that haven’t heard of Skyrunning, it is a franchise of races primarily in Europe, but spreading worldwide. It’s well known on the ultra scene and attracts the top runners from around the world – see http://skyrunninguk.com/about/ if you’re interested in finding out more about the different categories.

On Sunday Colin Bishop followed up his win at Warrington 10K last week with an impressive second place overall and first in age category at Rainford 10K on Sunday, finishing in 35:03. Well done Col!

4 Helsby runners, Jim O’Hara, Jane Ashbrook, Phil Roberts and Jenny Illidge, made the trip to Breiddens Fell Race with Jim getting 7th place overall in a strong field and Jenny securing 1st position in her category.

Chester marathon and metric marathons were held in perfect running conditions, starting and finishing on the Roodee racecourse. In the main race David Madders capped off a superb few months running by adding a marathon PB to his collection of recent 5K, 10K and HM bests. A well deserved reward for a summer of hard training.

In the metric (16.3 miles) marathon Joanne Lacking, Helen Owens, Carl Pratt, Derek Morris and Gaz O’Connor entered the inaugural running of this race over an out and back section of the last 8 miles of the full marathon course. Joanne finished as 10th lady and 2nd in her category, Gaz was 12th overall, 2nd in his category while Helen finished 3rd in her category. Solid performances from all 5 Helsby runners saw everyone home in under 2:15.

Tim Palmer sent in the following race report from the Lakeland Trails 10K:

“Jenny and I ran the Lakeland Trails Coniston 10k Trail Race on Saturday and didn’t get soaked despite the forecast – it was even sunny for the finish… Tremendous scenery and nice course with about 250m climb in the first 4km, then downhill most of the rest of the course. I took about 10 mins off my 2013 time on the same course and Jenny took about a minute off her 2013 time.”

Full results can be found at: http://www.lakelandtrails.org/download/Results/Coniston14/Coniston%20Trail%20Run10km%20RL.pdf

Also over the weekend Ste Wiggins and Roy Duffy attempted an arduous 3 day, 96 mile trek along the West Highland Way in aid of breast cancer charities. Congratulations on supporting such a worthy cause.

Regards,
Gaz.

Leave a Reply

