Weekly Update 19-10-2015 to 25-10-15

Happy Halloween to the Green Army contingent! Owens here, bringing you the news you have been refreshing your email for all week.

I have no idea what horrors have happened this past week but it seems to have been a very quiet week of racing. Maybe that Degsy has exhausted himself with all his race reporting.

I am afraid I cannot bulk the report out with tales of my own racing adventures because I have been a lazy sod and it says something about my poor running for past few months when I can just about report a parkrun.

First we shall we go on to the lovely Debbie Read, who ran the Dublin marathon on Monday.

Having had several attempts to break the elusive sub 4 hour barrier in a marathon and failing I thought a change of tactics was needed. 

My unsuccessful races were all on pancake flat courses and living in and running around Frodsham, I’m a hill loving gal, so, after some research I decided to enter the “undulating” Dublin marathon. After the best part of 6 months training, 6 days a week, mostly on Tarmac I was on my way to Ireland feeling optimistically confident. Dublin marathon is on their Bank Holiday Monday at the end of October with a 4K breakfast run the day before – Geoff joined me for this and we both thought it was excellent. A gentle trot with about 500 mainly overseas runners carrying their country’s flags, a technical t-shirt, a delicious full Irish breakfast worthy of a 4* hotel, an excellent live band while we ate, a display of Irish dancing and an appearance by U2! – all for 15 euros.

Race day I woke up and my optimism took a dip – it was a wet and windy Dublin. However, once I put my kit on, my race head returned, Oatabix and banana for breakfast and I was off on the 400 metre walk to the start. A quick baggage drop, queue for the loo and before I knew it we were off, all 13,000 of us.

It was wet. It was windy. The inclines were all in the wrong places but WOW what a marathon, supporters lined the whole route. The organisation was superb and the supporters were fantastic, I’ve never known a race where so many people had spent their own money and were offering jelly sweets, gels, fruit and drinks to the runners.

If you’re looking for an Autumn marathon I’d recommend Dublin.

Oh, and my time? Sub 4 (3:59:19) Some might say only just but I don’t care – my pb for a marathon now starts with a 3.

Now then, after far too long an absence, time to hit those trails.

Well done, Debbie!

Next, and the only other race report that has dropped into my Inbox is the wonderful Andy Robinson’s report on yet another brilliant achievement, there is no stopping Andy Robbo, he’s like French cheese…

I ran the Jedburgh Three Peaks Ultra on Saturday: 38 miles in the Scottish Borders.  It was a great race: good running and brilliant views.  The winner was Lee Kemp in 4:56:36, and I was 51st out of 183 finishers in 6:53:26.  I also won a trophy for first MV60.  Full results will be on the race website at www.jedburghthreepeaksultra.org.uk when they get it together to put them up: I’ve got an advance copy!  I’ve written a full race report and that’s on runfurther.com

The Helsby Green Army TT was back in full force this week! HOORAH! Over to Captain Colin…

A big thank you to everyone who turned up for the 10k TT tonight. Excellent running all! Congratulations to new member Mark Gittins for the win and June who was first back for the ladies. Well done to Jane Ashbrook for winning the 6k. Provisional results below:

10k

1. Mark Gittins 39.06

2. Colin Thompson 39.26

3. Phil Roberts 41.15

4. Jim Higgins 41.22

5. Chris Murray 42.52

6. June Swift 43.27

7. Ian Hamling 44.06

8. John Whitehead 47.08

9. Ste Roach 47.26

10. Ben Williams 47.47

11. Adele Croxton 48.03

12. Jamie Kong 48.18

13. Roy Gaskill 49.32

14. Rachael Holden 51.25

15. Jenny O’Hare 53.54

16. Nesta Hawker 54.03

17. Chris Igoe 59.19

18. Ian Pearce 59.19

19. Hannah Sadaoui 1.05.30

6k

1. Jane Ashbrook 27.04

2. Tanya Downes 32.36

Thank you to Louise, Joe, Jackie, Tanya and Charlie for timing, Mario for marshalling and Carol for tail running. I will send out the more detailed results next week.

Finally, we have the parkrun results…

Delamere parkrun

Helen Owens: 24:04

Stephen Wiggins: 25:05

Louise McEveley: 25:39

David Wiggins: 28:13

Widnes parkrun

Ian Hamling: 20:32

Joanne Lacking: 20:47 (1st lady)

Michael Williams: 23:01

Chris Hatton: 24:29

Rachael Holden: 25:07

Ellesmere Port parkrun

Ben Williams: 22:57

It is the Halloween party at club tonight, starting at 6:30pm. Please support it if you can, I shall be there with my little witches. It is £3 for children and £5 for adults. Only dilemma I have is convincing my hermit youngest daughter that going out with her dressed like a fool with eyeliner drawn all over her face is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

