Helsby Weekly Update 1-5-17 to 7-5-17

A busy week this week, but before we get to the reports here’s a quick notice about the Deeside Multi Terrain series that starts early next month and runs through the summer.

dee

Firstly, from Col T at Amberswood 10K Trail Race 

Myself and Louise ventured over to Wigan for the trail 10k on Sunday, a lovely course around Amberswood which takes in path, trail, grass and bridleways. It was quite a low key event with only around 250 runners but it was expertly hosted by Wigan Harrier with excellent marshalling and loads of encouragement from the volunteers.

The award ceremony at the finish reminded of a fell race with all the banter and spot prizes! As I was the sole Helsby runner at this race I thought I’d do my best to fly the flag for the club and managed to sneak a win after a battle of cat and mouse with a guy from Bramley AC most of the way around so I was very happy with the result and prize.
All in all a great morning out in the sun and would highly recommend this race to anyone looking for well organised cheap trail race.

col 10k

Results here:
http://www.ukresults.net/2017/wigan10k.html

Fitzy sent this in from the Helsby vs. Felsby fell race at Dinas Bran

Another great turnout for leg 2 of Helsby V Felsby at the Dinas Bran Fell race at least a third of the field was in a green vest, it was like an invasion of Llangollen!

So provisional results that I know you all want to hear, I won’t go into too much detail but I think they are correct.

Helsby Men 9 runners
Felsby men 5 runners
Helsby women 0 runners
Felsby women 7 runners
Helsby men 220 points v Felsby men 129
Helsby women 0 points v Felsby women 196
Total Helsby 220 v Felsby 325
1st Leg Helsby 371 v Felsby 309
2nd Leg Helsby 220 v Felsby 325
Total Helsby 591 v Felsby 634

Winners and deservedly so Felsby who retain the title, I’ll present the wine and trophy to Adam Gordon who we have just chosen in the car on the way home as the Felsby captain and turncoat 🙂

Thanks to everyone who took part, the main aim was to bolster numbers and I think it worked again, had a blast.

dinas

Paul Cunningham sent in this, also from Dinas Bran.

Arrived early excited in  knowing I was going to set a new PB yes my first ever Fell Race – fantastic turn out by the green army felt like a local run around Helsby Hill – beautiful evening weather perfect.

To be honest a more relaxed atmosphere than a road race – I even managed to stand on the startline like an elite runner but felt out of place and slowly manoeuvred myself towards the rear of the pack – home sweet home.

The race started 2 laps of a small field through a gate onto a steep hill  – I kept a steady pace happy to reach the top without too much trouble – tight right onto another hill with an even steeper incline within a minute I was struggling  crying out for a water station – looked at the watch and we had completed 0.7miles.

I couldn’t believe it I had to walk  the remainder of the hill – once onto the off road pathway I began running once more after all it was a race and started to enjoy my surroundings – turned a corner and a marshal pointed us right – I looked up and started to cry all I could see was a stream of Sherpas sorry runners making headway up the mountain face  – picked my line and felt every muscle in my legs and back burn – forehead stuck to the ground I made slow progress – once I eventually got to the Hillary step swapped over onto oxygen I pushed on to the summit – we had a weather window and had to grasp the opportunity  – delirious from reaching the summit I turned and shouted “ Yo Adrian I did It”.

Now time for the downhill – within a few meters I realized that I had grown up into a responsible adult  who doesn’t  like to take chances  – full risk assessment completed site specific and I snagged the descent  – more safety rails required and ground uneven needs urgent attention

Such a rush running at full pelt downhill – It’s great to be alive – then we had the pleasure of doing it all over again as 2 laps required.

Finished back on the playing field greeted by the rest of the Green Army – absolutely loved every second of this race.

Fell running leave the watch at home and amaze in your surroundings.

Congratulations to Felsby – Fell runners are fit as hell.

Now for a couple of reports, from Fitzy and Andy Robinson, from this years Sandstone Challenge.

I say it every year but it’s the best pound for pound race about, for £20 you get a coach to the start in Whitchurch, 5 checkpoints well stocked with food and water, and plenty of marshalls willing to help you out. Once your weary legs get back to Frodsham community centre you are greeted by the local scouts who wait hand and foot on you whilst you try and recover. What more could you ask for?
A win maybe? Again for me it wasn’t to be, after CBH hunting me down around mile 30 last year and me finishing 3rd, it happened again in virtually the same spot, with winner Lee Ireland passing me with 2 miles to go. Having ran with him for around 26 miles, i went approx 90 secs ahead going into the last checkpoint, but I just had nothing left when i got to Frodsham hill, even though Chris Collins tried his up most to gee me up and get me up that hill. I did go one better this year coming in 2nd, although a little disappointed i was very happy about my 12 minute PB, finishing on 4 hours 42 mins on a very quick and dry course in near perfect conditions.

Most years this is a good enough time to win it. I can’t even blame my navigation errors, 3 of them within the first 3-4 miles. This is my 4th time running this, but i get lost around a running track me so it’s par for the course these days. This race really did take me to a dark place at the end, I gave everything i had, I’ve never felt so exhausted and took me a good hour to come around. Never again i said, but I’m sure i will be back again next year.

Well done to everyone involved, i cannot thank you all enough

Fitzy

fitz sandstone

Andy Robinson sent in this info from the SSC

Sandstone Trail Challenge 2017
This year’s Challenge went well again, with a record 206 finishers and a record amount of food eaten.  Conditions were great underfoot, with no mud at all, and it was a cool day with perfect running conditions.

The results, a race report and a link to hundreds of photos are all on the Challenge webpage at

helsbyrunningclub.org.uk/sandstone-intro.htm

There were 7 Helsby runners, all of them heroes of course:
2nd: Chris Fitzpatrick, 4:42
33rd: Phil Roberts, 5:58
34th: Gaz O’Connor, 5:59
35th: Jim Jones, 6:00
39th: Gareth Boyd, 6:09
81st: Lesley Feakes, 7:06
84th: Roy Duffy, 7:16
Finally, the full results for Helsby runners at parkruns last weekend can be found below.

http://tinyurl.com/kvq2x25

Cheers

Gaz

Leave a Reply

