Helsby RC News – from Monday 28/08/17 to Sunday 03/09/17

Welcome to the Helsby RC weekly round-up. Please keep sending any race reports, or anything you want including, to helsby-race-reports@outlook.com

Before the racing news there are a couple of messages and reminders.

Sunday League XC

A message from Jackie regarding the upcoming X-Country League:

“Please find the provisional Sunday League XC dates for your diary. A full list of our Winter club counters including Borders, Liverpool & District + Sunday League XC will be issued once all is confirmed. 
 
 
“Following the recent Sunday League XC fixtures meeting the following dates were agreed for the coming season. Every attempt was made to avoid clashes, but as usual, there are unfortunate unavoidable clashes due to the very busy nature of our sport

The fixtures are as follows :-

29 October Clarkes Gardens hosted by Penny Lane Striders

12 November Beacon Park hosted by Skelmersdale Boundary Harriers

10 December Arrowe Park hosted by Pensby Runners

14 January Town Park Runcorn hosted by Warrington Road Runners

28 January Walton Hall Park hosted by Liverpool Running Club. Please note that this race is still to be confirmed and the date and venue may change.

25 February Forest Park Birchwood hosted by Spectrum Striders.

Race 5 will be advised when finally confirmed.”

In addition, the Northerns are 27th January (Leeds) and the Nationals are 24th Feb (London). The Cheshire Cross Country Champs will be Saturday 6th January 2018 (Delamere according to the event listing on http://cheshireaa.com/fixtures.aspx).

Plus the Liverpool & District dates are:

Fixtures 2017/18
Match 1  28th October Arrowe Park

Match 2  25th November Sefton Park
Match 3  9th December Beacon Park
Champs 11th February Clarkes Gardens

Hope to see you running in the mud soon!

Cheers

Jackie”

Hi’ Vis’ Vests and Hoodies

A brief message from Donna regarding club kit:

“Good evening ladies and gentleman…. it is fast approaching the time when we will soon need to wear hi-viz vests when running back to club or even out on our own! If anybody needs one please let me know I will be at club most Wednesday’s for the next few weeks if anybody requires one. If anybody also would like a hoodie please let me know what size you want so we can order some in before it’s chilly enough to require them! Please email me if you want or post below with sizes and requirements safe running everyone

 

Club Drop in Sessions & Coach Development

Another message from Jackie:

“Please see message below from Nick Settle from England Athletics
Anyone interested in any of these courses please let me know. There’s one to take you from being a run leader (LiRF, Leader in Running Fitness) to a coach if anyone is interested. Our club has many qualified LIRF’s (Colin, Chris B-H, Gareth, Roy, Mario, Graham, Donna, Jennie, Carol) but if anyone else would like to train as a new one please let me know. 
 
Coach Development

 England Athletics have created an new winter/spring coach development programme to help your coaches to further improve your athletes’ performance and reduce their risk of injury. There are a number of local coach development workshops organised in regions, including Movement Skills, Physical Preparation, Athletics 365, LiRF to CiRF and specific technical days.

For workshop details and to sign up, visit: www.englandathletics.org/coachdevelopment

Please can you send this message and attached poster onto your club coaches and promote with-in the club. 

Thanks for read and speak to you soon.

Many thanks

Nick 

Nick Settle
Club Support Manager (Cheshire, Cumbria, Tees Valley, Tyne and Wear, Northumberland & County Durham)”

Turning Up Competition (TUC Cup)

There has now been a full month of the TUC competition and there is now a page on the club blog where the current standings will be updated.

Remember you will only be credited points if we know about the race. If there are any races missing just let me know and I will update the spreadsheet. Whilst I attend a few races myself I don’t always remember who’s attended in support. So again, if anyone is missing points for attending a race just let me know and I’ll update it.

I reckon the current leader of the men’s table must be down to a lack of reporting of races by everyone else!

Mens Table

Ladies Table

Supporters Table

Entries highlighted in green indicate member did not run but attended in support. The TUC Cup page can be viewed HERE

 

Racing News

Deestriders Off Road Grand Prix – Final Race – Friday 01/09/17

So now for some racing news, and the first report has been sent in by Richard Hankins about the final race of the Deestriders off road GP:

Richard Hankins' Trophy

“Friday saw the last of the four races in the annual off road grand prix series run by Deestriders. The club have been struggling with a lack of facilities and as a result the series was late to be announced. By the third race the rugby club’s changing rooms had been boarded up with a sign stating they did not meet health and safety requirements and nobody must enter. For the final race we were told the club house would be open and there would be the usual awards ceremony. Dave Wiggins, Chris Igoe, Colin Bishop and myself turned out for Helsby. It was a perfect evening, cool with a light breeze, despite that the overall turnout was down. We set off as usual, I tried to keep up with Col Bishop which worked perfectly for about 100 metres before he buggered off.  The front three runners, all from Prestatyn, immediately showed pretty outstanding speed which they retained throughout the race. Col ran a brilliant race – fourth placed by my reckoning (results have not been published) and well ahead of fifth. I pulled out with a sore shin about a mile in, having already completed the required number of races I didn’t think it was worth exacerbating the injury further. Dave and Chris kept up a good tempo for a respectable finish. We then headed in for the awards ceremony. Whilst the clubhouse had been opened, the bar had not, so there was no food or drink. As the lights had also failed we all sat there as darkness descended. Then came a bizarre awards ceremony at the start of which it was announced that the results may be wrong as they couldn’t see the scores in the darkness. Two people wearing head torches handed out the trophies. I took third vet 45, which has greatly increased my number of running trophies from 0. Col B took nothing however, as they had erroneously missed his results for the race off the final calculation – he was clearly the winner of the vet 55 category and deserved better. Sad to see our friends at Deestriders doing their best in such difficult circumstances….let’s hope for better next year.”

Thanks for sending in the report Richard. It is good to see that the results have since been updated and published. Great to see 3 Helsby runners with podium places in the series results:

Colin Bishop – 1st vet 55, Richard Hankins – 3rd vet 45, Jim Jones – 3rd vet 50

Full results HERE

Ben Nevis Race – Saturday 02/09/17

IMG_3433

On Saturday I was one of 600 who took on the classic Ben Nevis Race. I’d never been up the Ben before so what better way could there be than racing up there! It is a true classic and certainly a challenge to get back down in a decent time given the steepness of the descent. We were blessed with glorious sunshine for the da and the views were fantastic. I was still a bit nervous form a tumble I took in the Snowdon race a few weeks ago so took my time and – and a few pictures along the way. I still finished in a reasonable time of 2hrs 50mins and had a great day out.

Results are HERE

Ring O’ Fire & Firelighter – 01/09/17 to 03/09/17

We had 3 Helsby warriors in Anglesey over the weekend. Well done guys and thanks to Ben Williams for sending in this great report:

“I don’t really know where to start with this one. For those who don’t know it, the Ring O’Fire is a 3-day, 135-mile circumnavigation of Anglesey, using the coastal path. This year the first day was opened as a stand-alone ultra in its own right, called the Firelighter. Ste Wiggins and I entered the full event, and Boydy entered the Firelighter. Each checkpoint had a cutoff time, which had been tightened this year, making the average pace needed a bit challenging.

The first day covers just over 35 miles, from Holyhead to Amlwch. After a sendoff from the Mayor of Holyhead and the local MP, along with Max and Katie, off we went through Holyhead and across onto Anglesey itself. I knew the first section was flat, and I wanted to make the most of that and fresh legs and so I headed off quickly to build a cushion against the dreaded cutoff. I managed to pass CP1 with probably an hour to spare, and from there on until CP3 my dad kept popping up with snacks and encouragement as well. The route got progressively harder as it turned the corner onto the north of the island, where the clifftop path keeps diving down into narrow coves and then climbing back out again – usually with massive wooden steps. There was an unofficial water stop where a couple had moored their yacht on a secluded beach and were handing out snacks and drinks, seems like a nice life! At one point my foot slipped sideways on a clifftop path and I cramped up, unable to move while following runners had to climb past me on the single track as I apologised profusely.

I managed to keep my time cushion, though I didn’t extend it, and finished day 1 in the dark after 8h 45m (35.3 miles on my Garmin).  Gareth finished the Firelighter in 7h 14m, and unfortunately Ste had to drop out.

I didn’t take ‘advantage’ of the offer of overnight floorspace in Amlwch leisure centre, and instead went back to a cosy cottage for a chippy tea and a bath.

The second day began well, everyone ran in a group through Amlwch and so I set a reasonable pace for the first few miles. Again the cutoff times would be a challenge, but I built a small cushion by CP1. However then the wheels fell off, although there were other runners in my orbit I was really running alone and struggling to make progress. No injuries beyond cramp, I just couldn’t get myself going somehow – walking was fine, but I just couldn’t run. Shortly after leaving CP1 I had to stop because of pain in my right thigh – looking back I think it was ‘just’ cramp, but I wasn’t sure if I’d damaged something. From that point on my average pace dropped below what was required, and as I hobbled towards CP2 I made the decision that I’d had enough. I wasn’t timed out – I had about 15 minutes to spare, but I would have been timed out at CP3 and I felt better quitting rather than being forced out.

I’m not sure I’ll be back, I’ve got even more respect for the Green Army who’ve done this event now and I think it’s a step too far for me. I’m glad I tried though, and I learnt a lot.”

 

Parkrun

We had 14 Helsby athletes out at various Parkruns on Saturday. Fitzy was showing them how to do it again at Phoenix with another 1st place while Debbie Read was 1st lady to finish over at the Ellesmere Port Parkrun. Well done everyone!

Consolidated club report.

That’s it for this week. Thanks for reading.

Jim

Leave a Reply

