Helsby weekly update 30-09-17 to 5-11-17

Parkrun

Helsby runners were out at Widnes, Horton, York, Phoenix Park and Delamere. The undoubted highlight of the of the day was Ian Rutherfords well deserved first place at Phoenix.

Full results are below

https://tinyurl.com/kvq2x25

 

Col Thompson sent in this report from Abergele 5.

I was lucky enough to get selected to run for Cheshire again at the Abergele 5 Inter-counties champs against North Wales so on Sunday I slipped into my Cheshire vest and made my way over there. The weather was pretty horrific, gale force winds, hail and rain so I spent most of the time sitting in my car trying to keep warm before the start. I’m definitely a fair weather runner! The course is very similar to the one used in the borders league so it’s an out and back along a coastal path with a small diversion around a caravan park. The wind was against us on the way out so it made for a slow and tactical first half with everyone trying to use each other as a wind break, but on the way back it was a case of eye balls out and hang on to the finish. I managed to get 29.06 , 15th overall and 4th Cheshire counter (6 per team), both the men’s and ladies teams won on the day so it was a great result for everyone!

It was also nice to see a few green vests there, Bish had a fantastic race to win the overall v55 category and the Wiggo’s had a great run too. Well done chaps!

Full results can be found here:

https://tinyurl.com/y8ax7du3

Cheers
Colin T

Fitzy, king of the uncapitalised personal pronoun, sent in this from Arley Hall

Saturday seen me head back to Arley Hall and compete again in the Cheshire 10k after winning my age category back in March, and also getting my 10k PB, so i fancied giving it another go on a really fast course. The weather was very different to March, heavy rain with a bit of wind, made for an absolutely brutal start, especially traipsing over the waterlogged muddy fields to pick up your race number and and go to the toilet. I was muddier by the start of this race than I was at the previous weekends XC at Arrowe Park, and it was a road race.

I started the race really well and everything was going to plan up until a mile and a half out because as per usual i’d gone off far to fast yet again, when will i learn. With it being a very local race i was expecting to see a lot more from the green army there, but I only seen Carol Shaw, who ran a brilliant race to secure second in her age category. I managed to finish with my second fastest 10k, so i was more than happy with the end result. I would recommend this race to all you road loving tarmac slappers, hopefully we can get it as a road counter next year and get a few more down to a great race, even if the weather did spoil it a little.

The winner, Matt Clowes, all the way from Cardiff running club ran 29 mins 44 secs, and with the top ten all coming in under 34 mins, it was a very strong field

Fulls results

https://tinyurl.com/yar32ut2

As usual please send all reports to:

helsby-race-reports@outlook.com

Cheers

Gaz

 

 

