2018 road and fell champs

2018 Road championships

1. Sunday 25th February 11am Wrexham Village Bakery Half Results
2. Sunday 25th March 9am Liverpool 10M Results
3. Sunday 1st April 9:30am Hale 5M Results
4. Wednesday 11th April 7pm Chester Spring 5M Results
5. Friday 27th April 7:15pm Mid Cheshire 5K Results
6. Tuesday 8th May 7.30pm Walton 5M Results
7. Sunday 17th June 11am Port Sunlight 10K Results
8. Sunday 29th July 10am Helena Tipping 10K Results
9. Wednesday 15th August 7:15pm Ellesmere Port 5K
10. Sunday 16th September 11am Sutton 6M
11. Sunday 6st October 10am Halewood 5K
12. Sunday 18th November 10am Conwy Half

 2018 Fell championships

1. Saturday 24th March 11am Llantysilio (AS) Results
2. Saturday 28th April 1pm NW Llangynhafal Loop (AS) Results
3. Saturday 19th May 12am IC Lads Leap (AS) Results
4. Wednesday 6th June 7:15pm Up the Beast (AS) Results
5. Sunday 24th June 11am Moel Y Gamelin (BM) Results
6. Saturday 14th July 2pm NW Tal y Fan (AM) Results
7. Sunday 29th July 1pm Kentmere Horseshoe (AM) Results
8. Sunday 12th August 1pm ICFC Two Hillforts (CM)
9. Sunday 26th August 11am Cnicht (AS)
10. Sunday 9h September 11am NW Ras Cyrn y Brain (BM)
11. Saturday 15th September 11am King John’s Castle (BS)
12. Saturday 17th November 10:30am Penmaenmawr (BM)

Your best 7 results to count in each championship; a minimum of 4 needed to be eligible for a prize. Separate men’s and ladies championships will be run.

2018 Mini fell series

1. Wednesday 9th May 7:15pm FvH Ysgol Dinas Bran (AS) Results
2. Sunday 27th May 11:30am Mynydd Myfyr (CS) Results
3. Wednesday 6th June 7:15pm Up the Beast (AS) Results
4. Wednesday 11th July 7:30pm ICFC The Druid (BS) Results
5. Monday 27th August 1pm Cilcain Show Mountain (AS)
6. Saturday 15th September 11am King Johns Castle (BS)

The mini-fell series is aimed at encouraging Helsby runners to give Fell running a go, our more experienced fell runners will offer support in these races. The races are shorter and navigation is less of an issue as they are flagged. Kit is generally not required unless the weather forecast is dreadful. The series is open to all to participate and we will keep a ranking. However, to be eligible for the trophies participants must have competed in no more than 4 fell races previously. Your best 3 races to count. The races are short, steep and thoroughly rewarding!

For fell runs, please note FRA rules: runners should arrive at races prepared to carry all of the following ‘best practice’ equipment:

  • Waterproof whole body cover
  • Other body cover appropriate for the weather conditions including, as a minimum, hat and gloves but also e.g. a fleece
  • Map, preferably waterproof, of the race route and surrounding area
  • Compass suitable for navigating the course (GPS type equipment is not acceptable)
  • Whistle
  • Emergency food (long races).

Please note that this ‘best practice’ equipment requirement can be relaxed on shorter fell races in good weather; but this relaxation can’t be guaranteed.

2018 Mini – Trail Championship

1. Tuesday 8th May 7:15pm Thurstaston Multi-Terrain Challenge Results
2. Wednesday 27th June 7:30pm ICFC The Wobbler Results
3. Wednesday 1st August 7:30pm Pie & Peas 5M Results
4. Saturday 18th August See website Race the Train14M
HRC camping w/e
5. Tuesday 4th September 7:00pm Wirral Multi-Terrain Series -Royden Pk
6. Tuesday 11th September 7:00pm Wirral Multi-Terrain Series – Thurstaston
7. Tuesday 18th September 6:30pm Wirral Multi-Terrain Series – Harrison Dr
8. Tuesday 25th September 6:30pm Wirral Multi-Terrain Series – Arrowe Park

The mini-trail series includes races that are already popular with Helsby runners and will give newer runners a chance to venture off–road. Your best 5 races to count. The 1st race is 6 miles, Wobbler approx. 5miles, Pie & Peas 5 miles and the Wirral races 5 to 6 miles on paths, tracks, grass, old railway lines, beaches and sand dunes. Plus good value – The Wirral races are £1 each

 Key

CGP Cheshire Grand Prix Race – none this year
NW North Wales Fell Championship Race
IC Inter-Counties Race
FvH Felsby vs Helsby Competition, the road counter is the Mold Border League on 8th April & the fell counter is Dinas Bran on 9th May.
ICFC Interclub “Fell” Championship Counters between Helsby, Spectrum, Warrington & Delamere Spartans

IMPORTANT: please see websites for entering and race details and to check start times.

A version suitable for your desk or the home notice board of the Helsby RC summer 2018 club counters is available here: HelsbyRC_Summer_Road_Fell_etc_Championship_2018

Advertisements